Installing More Filters

September 1, 2008 at 3:28 pm (Announcements) (, , , , , )

Hello Ladies!

We just wanted to let you know that we’ve decided to run all our articles by our men–Lauren’s husband, Nathaniel, and Abigail’s father, Lane.  We had already been discussing many of the topics/scriptures with them and found much (if not most) of our inspiration and learnings from both living with them and listening to their teachings, but they both agreed this would be the best way to stave off any accusations that we are “not under authority” or “not in subjection” to our men.  We also hope it will help to keep us accountable to them and insure that we ARE honoring them and joyfully submitting to their authority.  It may slow our pace down a little, since our men are both super busy providing for and caring for their families, but we appreciate them being willing to come aboard to help us out!  Please bear with us!  And also feel free (in fact, encouraged!) to likewise run anything we say by YOUR authorities!  Our goal is to encourage our sisters to honor the Lord, to honor their authorities and to honor His people!

Blessings!

2 Comments

  1. Katy said,

    Hi 🙂 I think I have visited this site before but I found it again via the kindred spirit network 🙂 Thank you for being such examples for young women. I really enjoy your blog because of that. You definately live what you “preach” 🙂 Blessings to you both!

  2. Miss Jocelyn said,

    I think that is a wonderful idea! I’ve enjoyed reading through your article. I’m going to read Situational Modesty in a minute. I wanted to thank you Lauren for your comment on my blog. I am not afraid but sort of worried to what comments come in on that post just because I don’t want to have to any debates or be discouraged. I was so encouraged by your comment! Thank you.

    I just received a comment after yours that was so frustrating. I haven’t published it because it was just so mocking and I’m not sure I really need to answer it. It was so full of blaspheme and no appreciation for what Jesus did for us.

    This is what it said:
    No matter what I wear…God loves me and is pleased with me. No amount of works or correct dressing makes him love my any more or less. Why? Because when he looks at me he sees Jesus. Woo-hoo! I can wear a tight mini skirt or a be covered head to toe, God’s view of me does not change. Your opinion/view of me does. What people are truly going to see and notice is the God inside of me shining out.

    Dressing “plain” (for lack of a better word) or having long hair is not what is going to draw the unbelievers to Christ. God doesn’t care if your hair is long or short or if your skirt is 2 inches above your knee or to the floor with tassles. It is a heart issue. And a law issue. Jews are still under the law. We aren’t, Jesus died to set us free from the law. Let’s live like it.

    I know what I want to say about it but I am just in such dismay of the attitude and how uninformed this poor girl is. dear me.

    Anyways, so for my rambling.

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

