The Valley of Dry Bones

September 4, 2008 at 7:32 am (Flowers of Thought) (, , , , )

I’m stuck at someone else’s house and I’m bored with life. Bored with existence. Bored with empty entertainment. Bored with trying to please myself. And yet, I seem equally bored with my God’s holy word. I’ve been slogging through Ezekiel for days now, desperately trying to find something in the book that I can relate to, that speaks to me of God, my Father and trying to fathom a man who appeared to his countrymen as a religious freak. I read, I scratch my head, I reread, I pull my hair, I read, I reread again. I would bite my nails if that were one of my many nasty habits. This man bakes weird bread, lies on his side naked, watches dry bones rejuvenated and speaks of blood and guts. In this valley of dry bones, God says to me, “Abigail, can your spirit breathe again? Can your spirit live again to delight in my word again?” And I answer, “Ah, Lord God, for only You know.” And then it happens—the rush of wind, the whisper of breath through my soul. Suddenly the constant noise and motion of the TV in the other room has lost its deceptive pull, suddenly I know that Ezekiel was written for me. Even in my spiritual draught, the Lord can revive me and make me a warrior for Him. And with His power flowing through me, I don’t mind being weird. I don’t mind being called to do weird things. I don’t mind being made a spectacle. In light of God’s glory, I can devour His word, and it will be as sweet as honey to me.

Lord, when I have lost the vision
‘Tis not Thou who needs revision
‘Tis my heart that needs reviving.
Only Thou can so enliven.

So I pray that Thou would breathe
Into my drought so I believe,
‘Til all Thy word is all I need
And come to Thee again, to feed.

1 Comment

  1. Lauren Ashley said,

    This was a beautiful and convicting post! I find it interesting that we were thinking about the same thing lately, if you go to my blog you can see a poem I wrote about the same subject. The Word of God is soo important for our spiritual well being, may we all strive to be more faithful to it!

    Blessings,
    Lauren Ashley

Leave a Reply

