Through Fire and Water

September 22, 2008 at 7:31 am (Flowers of Thought) (, , , , , , )

Sometimes it seems as though the Lord leads through fire and water. Even little things like a shot laptop screen, no electricity in my bedroom, worthless telephones and an ill washing machine begin to feel overwhelming.

When Israel conquered a foreign kingdom, Yahweh told them how to purify the plunder. “Pass everything that can stand fire through fire, then cleanse it with water, and whatever cannot stand fire, pass through water.” (Numbers 31:20-23, paraphrased) Later, Yahweh spoke through the prophet Isaiah, using the same beautiful symbolism to describe how He would buy back His people from captivity. “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you, I have called you by name; you are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, nor will the flame burn you. For I am Yahweh, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.” (Isaiah 43:1-3) To me, the words ring out with hope-I have been redeemed from the world, bought by the Savior and made holy through His precious blood. When He leads through testing or trials-fire and water-He will be with me, as He leads me in the path to purification. I will never be overwhelmed. Only cleansed. Made holy. Like Yahweh.

Lord, when fiery ways I trod,
Beside me, Thou, the Son of God,
The fiery furnace Thou wilt bear
And always show me Thou art there.

And when my way lies through the water,
Thou reminds this frightened daughter,
Once Thou parted such a sea
And safely o’er Thou’ll carry me.

4 Comments

  1. Marcia said,

    I definitely needed that reminder today. I can walk confidently through the fire knowing that God is good and sovereign, even in my lack of understanding it all. One thing’s for sure: in this life there WILL be trials!

  2. Karyn said,

    Thanks for this article! It’s wonderful to see how Christians are impacting the world through the internet. For a great blog that’s assisting Christians to navigate the often bewildering territory of love and relationships in an increasingly secular world, check out http://www.christiancupid.com/blog

  3. lisette cole said,

    thanks for sharing this.. beautifully written.
    your heart is so special to the lord. bless you abigail! lisette

  4. Abigail said,

    Marcia–so true! I love your coupling of “good and sovereign”–so many see His sovereignty and doubt His goodness.

    Karyn and Lisette–I’m always blessed when the Lord’s lessons to me can encourage someone else–like a double blessing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

