Mocha Smoothie

October 1, 2008 at 9:57 am (Counter Culture) (, , , , , , , )

Ingredients:

1 cup fat-free milk

1 medium banana, peeled and frozen

2 tablespoons sugar or honey (I use brown sugar)

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

2 teaspoons instant coffee crystals

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup ice cubes

Directions:

Combine all ingredients (except ice) in blender.  Cover and blend until smooth.  Add the ice, cover, and blend until nearly smooth.  Pour into glasses and enjoy!  Makes two servings.  (Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book.)

Why go out and pay $4 for something you can make at home?  This is a great alternative to buying fancy coffee drinks out–It’s cheaper, oh-so-tasty and fun to make–and it’s much healthier!  If you want a stronger coffee flavor, just add more coffee!

4 Comments

  1. Marcia said,

    If you want it creamier, substitute nonfat ice cream or ice milk (you may still be able to buy it in some grocery stores) for the ice cubes.

    I also liked to make coffee with the single serving bags at high strength and use it as “espresso” in my blended drinks. No, I don’t recommend doing that.

    🙂 Thanks!

  2. Sydney said,

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog! I was here last night reading your story of the three weaves and I ment to leave a comment but I was fixing to go help my mom with something!

    I’m going to have to try that recipe! I like fancy coffee but I feel some what guilty drinking it because it cost so much money, but now I know a secret! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful drink recipe!

  3. Connie @ Practicing Theology said,

    Well thank you VERY much for sharing that! I’m going to pass it along to my youngest who really enjoys creating her own coffee and specialty drinks! 🙂

  4. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    I’m glad you all have enjoyed this recipe–it’s one of my favorites now! 🙂

    ~Lauren

Leave a Reply

