You’re a Temple

October 2, 2008 at 1:53 pm (Modesty, Poetry) (, , , , , )

What can I say or do to change your mind?
Your body is not a gift for all mankind.

You’re a temple of the Living God.
Your heart should be His altar stone.
Your life should be the sacrifice
Offered to God alone.

The beauty God gives is not meant to be shared
With each wandering eye by the outfits that you wear.

God clothed His whole temple
In linen and hangings of blue
In velvet and scarlet.
You should be covered, too.

The figure you have is not your light to share.
You will not turn eyes to God by tempting stares.

Your body is a sacred thing
Holy vessels are covered
In reverence and honor,
Because they are beloved.

Keep the abode of God unstained by sin
So the glory of God may be contained within.

You’re a temple of the Living God.
Your heart should be His altar stone.
Your life should be the sacrifice
Offered to God alone.

12 Comments

  1. KLynn08 said,

    :] I like this.

  2. Lauren Ashley said,

    I love this poem Abigail, excellent points!

    Blessings,
    Lauren Ashley

  3. Miss S. said,

    Quite lovely.
    -Miss S.

  4. Miss Jocelyn said,

    Oh that is beautiful! Who is the author? Thank you for sharing, and thank the both of you for your comments on my blog today!

  5. Abigail said,

    Thanks, Ladies.

    Miss Jocelyn, this is actually a song I wrote several years ago…I like to turn a little verse now and then. 🙂 And Lauren and I both always enjoy your blog–even if we slightly disagree! BTW, we loved your post about Sarah Palin…I don’t remember if either of us stopped to comment. Excellently put.

  6. Trey Edwards said,

    Wow. that is powerful. Mind if I share this on my blog and with my family/friends?

  7. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    Trey (and others who may ask), you are more than welcome to share this and any other posts on your blog or with family and friends. We only ask that you include a link back to us. Thanks!

  8. You’re a Temple - Modesty poem « Youth Of Eternity said,

    […] exhortation to modesty by young ladies.  This was written several years ago by Abigail from Pearls and Diamonds.  I think that young Christian ladies need constant reminders and exhortations such as these, […]

  9. Olivia said,

    This is so beautiful Abigail! Excellently put.

  10. Mia said,

    Beautiful poem, Abigail!
    I want to let you know that you’ve been tagged! Please check out my blog for details 🙂

  11. Karyn said,

    Thanks for posting this. It’s a great reminder for all Christians who are living out a genuine faith.
    Karyn

  12. Miss Jocelyn said,

    🙂 I didn’t check back to see if there was a reply posted to my comment! Guess I should’ve! Beautiful song, Abigail. Very inspiring.

    And, thank you – I’m glad you enjoyed the Palin post. I posted a follow-up post here: http://feelinfeminine.com/?p=467

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

