O to be a godly woman!

October 28, 2008 at 10:24 am (A Slice of Life, Attitudes, Godly Living, Homemaking, Love) (, , , , , , , , )

There’s a verse I’ve been meditating on for quite some time now, and I’m seeking to apply it to my life. I want to be a godly woman who represents Jesus Christ my Savior and my God in all that I do and in all that I am. Here’s the verse:

Women must likewise be dignified, not malicious gossips, but temperate, faithful in all things. ~1 Timothy 3:11

It’s a simple verse, really, and based on context, it is probably referring to qualifications for the wife of a “deacon” (the Gk means “servant”). Questions come to my mind: What does it mean to be dignified? The original meaning of the word is more easily understood in my opinion; it means to be “venerable”, or respectable/honorable. The Strong’s definition also says “serious”. I take this to mean that my character ought to be appropriate and honorable–in and of itself, as well as unto the Lord–and show that I take life and following God seriously. Do my words and deeds bring honor to the name of Christ? Or does my immaturity reflect poorly on Him? Do I take His word seriously and apply it to my life? Or do I read it and move on without seriously considering how what God says affects me? Do I realize how my actions affect those around me–and even generations to come? Do I consider these things enough to live for something more serious and more worthwhile than seeking my own pleasure in this world or simply living from day to day without serious, godly purposefulness? These are some searching questions that have helped me to look before I leap. (Be sure of this though: serious living is anything but drudgery and boredom. When we truly begin to live serious lives for God, we know the greatest joy that there is! And that is further motivation for taking God seriously–the fact that HE is the source of TRUE JOY for a believer! ~Psalm 16:11) 🙂

The next phrase is pretty self-explanatory: “not malicious gossips.” Now, it’s easy to say, No! Of course I’m not a malicious gossip! But we ladies need to watch what is in our nature–talking about others in such a way as to make them look worse and/or ourselves look better comes quite naturally! And we especially need to watch out for this in light of the prevalence of “prayer-request gossip”. Honestly examine your words. Does what I say give grace to those who hear? (Ephesians 4:29) Or does it tear others down? No matter what someone else may have done, do I honor them as having been created in God’s image, or do I cut them down by my words (whether they are present or not)? (James 3:9-10) This is a good way to identify if we are truly loving others, for “out of the heart the mouth speaks” (Jesus in Matthew 15:18-19).

“But temperate…” Some of you may have guessed that this word means “sober” if you thought of the temperance movement early in the 1900s. This understanding is consistent throughout Scripture–that we ought not to be drunk with wine, but be filled with the Spirit (Ephesians 5:18). Since I don’t drink, this isn’t an area of struggle for me, but the principle can apply to other aspects of life–Do I allow God’s Holy Spirit to control me? Or do I allow things in this world to intoxicate me to the point that I don’t listen to His Word? Be watchful of distractions that might steal your heart from the Lord Jesus. I know I need to be watchful for them in my own life.

And FINALLY, this is the part of the verse that hits me the hardest: FAITHFUL IN ALL THINGS. That’s no small task! In fact, that makes a big deal out of every task! That I would be faithful, dependable, consistent…even in the small things or the monotonous things–that I would truly do everything with all my heart as unto the Lord, with the aim of bringing Him glory (1 Corinthians 10:31, Colossians 3:15-16). Oh that everything I set out to do I would do so as to present it as a love offering to my King! In my own conviction, this doesn’t seem to leave room for lazy procrastination. Nor does it mean I must be a workaholic, either. But that I would seek to glorify God in all that I do, pray and choose wisely what things to commit myself to, and then do those few things with all of the energy and grace that God supplies. WOW! I struggle to do that! I pray that God would shape me into a faithful woman–faithful to Him IN ALL THINGS–in obedience to His word first of all, and then in applying myself to the responsibilities and good deeds He has prepared for me. What amazing grace it is that God would concern Himself with the affairs of men! That He takes pleasure in His children learning to follow Him faithfully–OH! and that He gives them the grace and guidance through His word to do just that! What an amazing God!

Grace and Peace to you all who are in Christ Jesus the Lord!

laurens-sig1

10 Comments

  1. nobody416 said,

    I really liked that post Lauren. It was a great reminder to me. I actually just read this verse about a week or so ago. Thanks for the great post.

  2. Abigail said,

    Wow. Even though our phone conversations have been dropping lately, we’re still on the same page. I’ve been thinking over this same passage! Especially the gossip issue has been back in my mind again–I say so many unkind things. And Faithfulness in the small things will forever be a chant I am learning, I’m afraid. My mind is only fixed on the big things–the things I think will make me great. Thanks for a heart-to-heart reminder. Love you!

  3. Marcia said,

    Lauren, what a thoughtful, transparent, convicting post. This is certainly an area I struggle and strive mostly in. Thanks for posting your thoughts on this.

  4. newlywedbeth said,

    Great post! I am a new subscriber. I appreciate your thoughts and fellowship as I am a newlywed transplanted to the Midwest from my home. It’s great to see other women wanting to be like Christ in all aspects of their lives. My devotions two days ago was on 1 Peter 3:6. When I read the part about Sarah being submissive, I said “Amen.” When I read the part about Sarah having trust in God, I said “Amen.” But when I got to the part about Sarah not being afraid, I said, Uh,oh!” I have been very timid and cautious. I panic when I am learning how to cook something new. It would be great if you gals would do a post on the courage of a godly woman. 🙂

  5. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    Thank you, ladies, for your comments! I’m glad this post was so challenging/encouraging–it challenges me every time I re-read it!

    Welcome to our blog, Beth! That’s a great suggestion! I’ll talk to Abigail and we’ll think about that for the future. We’ve got a lot lined up already, but I think the issue of fear/biblical courage is a worthwhile one to dig into!

    And congratulations on being newly married! There is a lot to learn–I’ve still got SO much to learn–but it sure is fun along the way! 🙂

    ~Lauren

  6. Rissa said,

    What a challenge! I appreciated this scholarly yet practical post very much.

  7. Meredith :) said,

    Great post! I agree that being “faithful in ALL things” is really difficult- it’s so easy to think that some things aren’t important, so it doesn’t matter. Thanks for the post! 🙂

  8. Em said,

    good good stuff! Thanks y’all!!

  9. Cristine R. Gobler said,

    I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles or reviews all the time along
    with a mug of coffee.

  10. Dyan X. Reap said,

    Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set
    up my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

