Situational Modesty and Upcoming Posts

November 18, 2008 at 9:09 pm (Announcements, Modesty) (, , , , , , , , )

Hello ladies,

Abigail and I are still a little slow when it comes to the meatier articles we intend to write. We hope you’ve enjoyed the more devotional posts we’ve made lately–and the recipes!

I have written and posted about three articles for the series on Situational Modesty, only “diving in” to one situation thus far: swimwear. As I have tried recently to write about other situations I have come up dry. I really think that to appropriately deal with some of the issues we want to address as far as situational modesty is concerned, we need to put a bit more time into developing not only well thought-out articles, but also helpful illustrations and even some fun and more interactive displays of what we mean. So it will most likely be a few months before we move on in the department of situational modesty, perhaps in the spring time when this issue becomes more prominent. To give you a heads-up, the two situations that I have plans for are formal wear and athletic wear. If you can think of any other situations in which you or Christian girls in general are tempted to compromise their standards, please let us know and we will try to examine them as well.

In the mean time, Abigail and I plan to develop articles related to recent issues that have come up in discussion (both online and with local friends), those being the practice of headcovering, women’s roles, and a godly woman’s courage. Abigail’s also got a couple of series in the making focusing on discerning the will of God and on wasted emotions. So stick around! We’ll have plenty of devos, more personal posts, and yummy treats for you to enjoy, as well as a slew of meatier articles that will require more chewing…and a longer cooking time. 😉

Blessings!

laurens-sig1

2 Comments

  1. Miss S. said,

    I’m looking forward to the upcoming posts! I think formal wear and athletic wear are good situational modesty topics. If I think of any others, I’ll let you know!
    ~Miss S.

  2. Anna Lofgren said,

    I’m looking forward to your posts! I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on situational modesty regarding dance, particularly ballet. Such a double standard seems to apply between that and regular clothes… Anyways, I’d enjoy reading your thoughts, but no hurries – I know you all are busy!

Leave a Reply

