Appearance-based Assumptions

December 29, 2008 at 5:16 am (A Time to Laugh) (, , , , , , )

Posted by Abigail

a-time-to-laugh

The day after Thanksgiving boasted huge sales and my parents made the early morning trek to take advantage of some of them. But the pressures of Black Friday often lead to split-second decisions, so they kept track of their receipts for future mind-changes. Sure enough, the next week found my 18-year-old brother, Josiah, and I headed into the local Stuff Mart laden with returns–a couple of crock-pots, a coffee grinder, some other items.

“We’ve got half a million returns,” I said apologetically to the greeter.

“Actually,” Josiah interposed, “Less than six.”

The greeter just flashed us an indulgent smile as she began stickering boxes. “That’s fine. Don’t worry about it. When I got married…”

2 Comments

  1. Miss Jocelyn said,

    LOL! Oh dear. 🙂

  2. Larissa said,

    My brother is nearly 5 years older than me and somehow, even though the family resemblance (sp?) is strong people assumed we were connected instead of related! I would step back and say “NO! he’s my brother!!!” lol Its good to have a laugh though, makes a hard situation lighter.

Leave a Reply

