Thou Shalt Not Touch

December 30, 2008 at 1:55 pm (Food for Thought, Purity) (, , , , , , )

food-for-thoughtChew on this one…

A man from Yemen was here in the states, working on an assembly line in a food-processing plant and sending money home for his family. When his wife back home gave birth to a baby, news spread quickly throughout the man’s assembly line. Soon his supervisor, who was a woman, came over to offer her congratulations and extended her hand for a handshake. The Yemenese man shrank away, avoiding any touch. Offended, the supervisor asked the managers to implement discipline for the man’s public disrespect. However, a mediator spoke with the man and discovered his conviction: that to even touch any woman aside from his wife was unfaithfulness to his wife.

…and tell us what you think.thess-5


5 Comments

  1. Larissa said,

    I think it’s a bit extreme to not even cordially touch the opposite sex. I however can understand that a lot can be conveyed in a small touch, ask anyone who has been touched by a sleazy man…blech!

  2. Trey Edwards said,

    I think that it is a legitimate conviction that should be honored but is, for me, a little extreme. I usually do not touch anyone of the opposite gender outside of my sisters, but I would not go so far as to reject a handshake. However, I can understand how someone could think that and I would not only not have a problem with that person, I would be proud of that person for standing up for what he believes in.

  3. Vanessa said,

    There are many cultures where it is not socially acceptable for unrelated men and women to touch, and I think there is value in that custom. However, many of those countries (Yemen included) permit child marriage, prostitution, and other atrocities against women. Their cultural taboos against men and women touching each other are not necessarily a sign of a higher standard of morality. As Christians, we are called to be pure not just outwardly, but inwardly as well.

  4. Lindsey said,

    What a nice picture you have there…. Kind of caught me off guard!!!
    I agree with Larissa. It seems a bit extreme to not even shake hands. As for me, shaking hands with nearly EVERYONE is basically in my job description. However, a little touch goes a long way….even if it is just a handshake.

  5. Debbie said,

    Once again, I agree it’s too extreme… But would it not be nice if we in America held such respects for our significant others so that we would not want to do anything that would offend our spouse. Not sure how much my opinion matters as I am not married. 😀

    Thanks for adding me to your blog roll. I am blessed to have found such a blessed site that encourages and teaches christian woman such important things.
    God bless
    debbie

Leave a Reply

