Filled with the Holy Spirit

January 17, 2009 at 6:27 am (Flowers of Thought) (, , , , )

flowers-of-thought-2

I’m afraid I’ve fallen in love–with a guy I met in the sixth chapter of Acts. “Filled with the Holy Spirit” is tacked onto Stephen’s name like an epitaph. His opponents couldn’t handle him because of his wisdom, grace and enthusiasm. Those would be wonderful charges laid to my case. If only my name appeared on my headstone as “Abigail, filled with the Holy Spirit.” It’s a bit daunting to realize that if I am filled with the Holy Spirit, the world will hate me and will likely rush at me with grinding teeth demanding my death. And religious leaders will be looking on in approval. They won’t be gathered around, applauding, wishing me well, taking celebrity shots-they’ll be pitching rocks.

Lord, I stand here, ready, willing
To receive Thy Spirit’s filling.
Overflow me with Thy wisdom,
Grace and power, those that listen

Will be made to love or hate Thee
Since they simply can’t debate Thee.
If I preach Thy precious story
Thou wilt stand and gain the glory.


3 Comments

  1. mom2olivia said,

    Amen Sister. We must be lead by His Spirit, His truth, and Not the approval of Man. God Bless YOU.

  2. Sydney said,

    What a wonderful testimony that would be! It would be hard knowing that so many people fervently hated you though!
    The praise we should desire if that of God not of man, still it would be rough if so many people wanted you dead!

  3. nobody416 said,

    I love Stephen too! He is SO amazing and such a wonderful example of faithful devotion to Christ. It’s one of my all time favorite Bible stories. 😀

    That was a beautiful little poem, Abigail! The last phrase is so wondrous… “If I preach Thy precious story, Thou wilt stand and gain the glory.” Amen!

    God bless you and fill you to overflowing with the holy spirit so it spills out unto all of us, and it already has. You are such an encouragement and example for me!

    In Christ,
    Olivia

Leave a Reply

