An update of Baby Scott

July 29, 2009 at 10:05 am (Announcements) (, , , , , )

We’d scheduled me (Abigail) for a visit to Nathaniel and Lauren this week, in hopes that the baby would come a little early so I could be here for the birth.  It looks like our hopes will be fulfilled, though not quite in the way we’d anticipated.  Below is an excerpt from an update e-mail Lauren sent out to family:

This week has been a bit crazy.  I developed a nasty rash on my belly button about two weeks ago.  Only about 4 or 5 days ago I noticed some red, itchy bumps developing on my inner thighs.  I thought it was related to shaving.  But they spread and are now red, itchy welts/blisters.  And the bumps have covered my legs, the tops of my hands, and my forearms.  They’re continuing to spread to my upper arms, belly, and feet.  We thought it was a pregnancy related thing called PUPP, but our doctor, who we saw both yesterday and today, was concerned and at our appointment today said she thinks it’s Gestational Pemphigoid which is a pregnancy-related autoimmune disease. I’ve  done some reading online and I think she’s right.   Basically the placenta causes the mother’s immune system to attack her own skin leaving itching, blistering burns.

Because there is potential risk to the baby, (and a lot of unknowns because this is such a rare condition), she suggested we induce as soon as possible.  The soonest she can get us into the hospital is Thursday at 7am.  So that’s the plan.  In the mean time I’m on some powerful medications to help with the itching (which is pure torture) and suppress my immune system.

This is a real bummer in that it doesn’t fit nicely into our plans for a completely natural birth (but who said life unfolds according to our plans anyway??).  We trust that the Lord will accomplish His good purpose in this, and that He’ll take care of me and the baby.  I’m just thankful that this thing didn’t flare up earlier.  We’re quite blessed to be so close to my due date.  Perhaps the worst news is that this disease will likely affect future pregnancies.

But the Lord is in control!  We know that He is good and does good.  And hopefully we will have a baby by this weekend!

Share this Post

4 Comments

  1. Kaylene said,

    Bummer about the rash 😦 Praying with you all! Hoping for the best delivery possible and would love to see pictures when baby arrives!!

  2. Maiden Princess said,

    Dear Lauren and Family,

    I will be praying for you! Continue to trust in God because He is faithful and trustworthy! I just found you blog a few days ago by the courtship story from YLCF and I am lovin’ it so far!

    Keep on pressing towards the goal,
    Maiden Princess

  3. Rebekah said,

    I’m praying for you girls!!! Hope all went well and little Bebe is there safe and sound.

  4. And Who Are You? « Pearls and Diamonds said,

    […] searches for our blog include all things itchy (due to Lauren’s pemphigoid), the simple word “pretty” (any explanation?), and questions about waiting for a godly […]

Leave a Reply

