What an Awesome God You Are!

September 25, 2009 at 10:07 pm (Poetry) (, , , , , )

awesome godWhat an awesome God you are!
And I? What a small child.
For when You whisper, high winds blow
And swirling droplets turn to snow
While I in wonder wish to know
The way the world goes.

What a knowing God you are!
And I? A senseless child.
For when You warn me of my path
I turn to You with scornful laugh
Until the truth cuts it in half
While, speechless, do I watch.

What a holy God you are!
And I? A sinning child.
For what You gently bid me do
I turn away, ignoring You
Though all Your words are ever true
Yet still, I disobey.

What a loving God you are!
And I? A ransomed child!
For though I never could have earned
The love that through Your word I’ve learned
You grant me, though Your voice I’ve spurned
You lavish it on me!

Copyright 2003 by Abigail

Share this Post

1 Comment

  1. Anna said,

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL poem!

Leave a Reply

