Leftover Pie!

December 10, 2009 at 9:46 am (Homemaking, The Domestic Economy) (, , , , , , , , , )

When Nathaniel was out of town for a couple of days I wasn’t very motivated to cook for just one person. Fortunately, I had made a huge batch of taco meat (5 lbs) before he left. We had tacos at least twice, then I figured I’d munch on it the rest of the week while he was gone. But after about 3 days of taco meat, I began to have mixed feelings.

So, I decided to make use of the leftovers in my fridge—using them to jazz up my taco meat. I had some creamy corn leftover from a church function, some rice from stir-fry night, and some green onions just begging to be eaten. Toss in a can of beans and cream of mushroom soup, top with cheese, bake, and voila! A new meal! I was even able to mix it all in the pan—so very few dishes to clean! This filled a 13 x 9 inch baking dish…so I’m not sure what I’ll do when I’m tired of my taco meat in this form…freeze it???

This was fun and just reminded me of a tip I could share on living frugally. Since the baby has arrived, it’s been a challenge to keep up with normal household responsibilities. I asked and Nathaniel agreed that I could cook in bulk and we could eat the same thing for several days in a row if necessary. This saves me time and money. Eventually, I’ll turn this into cooking in bulk and dividing into portions to freeze so we have a greater variety during the week. But for now, this works, and works well. And it has given me lots of opportunities for making “Leftover Pie”. In the past I’ve been less-than-praiseworthy when it comes to using up items in the fridge before they go bad. This has been a fun way to avoid that! Having a few cans of cream of mushroom soup, corn, beans, and other staples on hand means you can stretch out just about anything!

What kind of “Leftover Pie” have you made lately???

9 Comments

  1. Judy said,

    This indeed was wonderful for I got to sample it for lunch!! thanks Lauren

  2. Maiden Princess said,

    Hmmm…sounds interesting! Certianly a good way to use up leftovers. Perhaps I shall try making my own recipe with leftovers one day but for now we generally don’t have food left over for several days too often. Thanks for the idea though!

    In Him,
    Maiden Princess

  3. Katie Huff said,

    My mother and sisters-in-law get together once every two weeks for a big day of cooking.

    They make an array of freezer meals together and divide it between three families. It’s been a life-saver since we brought home four adopted children from abroad and life continues to become more busy.

    Freezer meals are amazing! If you’re interested in the recipes they use let me know and I’ll send them your way!

    God bless,
    Katie

  4. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    Lauren, as you know, I could probably use some balance in making something OTHER than leftover pie–or soup–or casserole. LOL 🙂 Great thrifty tip! You’re such a thrifty Mamma.

    Abigail @ Pearls and Diamonds

  5. Jessalyn said,

    We too make use of the “one big food that lasts for days” cooking in our home…. mostly due to lack of money! Thankfully Richard could eat the same thing for months if he had to!

  6. Vanessa said,

    I cooked a bunch of meals for myself last week, too – it’s nice to have something ready to eat to pull out of the freezer! I made baked lentils and herb chicken – they both make good freezer meals.

  7. Amy said,

    I always have wonderful intentions of getting extra meals together, but right now there is one measly lasagna in the freezer. I haven’t bulk cooked (other than the hamburger we used to buy) since I was newly married…can’t seem to find the time these days!

    Give that little one a big ole smooch from us!
    Blessings,
    Amy

  8. Sarah said,

    Leftover ground beef with some noodles and tomato sauce, spices and cheese make a good spaghetti pie 🙂 Rice and chicken with cheese, corn, and cottage cheese and a sprinkle of Tabasco sauce is another fun one.
    My mom often spent a couple of days in the summer with us in a production line of muffins, pancakes, enchiladas and lasagna to freeze for later on in the school year. My siblings and I have some great memories of afternoons elbow-deep in sauce 🙂
    Have fun with creative left-overing!

  9. Lauren said,

    Thanks for sharing, ladies!

    Amy, I gave Elijah a ton of “big ol’ smooches”. :0) And I told him one was from you.

    Great ideas Sarah! I’ve so enjoyed just throwing things together! It’s a good opportunity to be creative.

    ~Lauren

Leave a Reply

