Mean Texas Chili

January 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm (Counter Culture) (, , , , , , , , , , )

It’s that time of year–cold, overcast days are upon us–which means it’s the perfect time to eat chili!  This is my family’s recipe.  I’ve lived outside of Texas for about 6 years now, and though I’ve tried some very good chili since my exodus, I can honestly say that “cain’t nobody make it like them Texans can make it!”  And especially my parents.

Just a warning:  The title is quite accurate.  This is a mean Texas chili.  If you don’t like spicy food and would rather eat “wimpy” Texas chili, omit the cayenne pepper.  😉

Ingredients:

1-2 tablespoons oil

2 onions, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped (or about a tablespoon minced garlic from a jar)

3 lbs. any (or any combination) of the following:  sliced steak, chili meat, or ground beef

3 cans diced tomatoes

1 small can of tomato paste

3 tsp salt

8 Tbs good quality chili powder–I find mine in the Hispanic/Latino section of the store

3 Tbs ground cumin

1 Tbs cayenne pepper

1 tsp thyme

1/2 tsp oregano

1 cup of water

2 cans of beans (pinto, red, or kidney work well)

Directions:

Heat oil in pan.   Saute onions and garlic.  Add meat and cook until done.  Pour into slow cooker.

Add diced tomatoes and all seasonings.  Stir in one cup of water.  Cook on low for about 4 hours.

About 20 minutes before serving time add drained beans.

My family always ate this over rice with canned pears on the side to cut the heat.  You can also eat it on its own or with Frito’s, as Nathaniel likes it.  It’s great topped with sour cream and cheese.  This batch should make at LEAST ten servings (filled my 5 quart Crock Pot to the brim!).  🙂

3 Comments

  1. Amy Jo said,

    Wow, this sounds delicious! I will definitely be trying it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Debbie said,

    sounds yummy.. I never thought of using sliced steak though.. do you pan fry it first? I am not a big meat in the chili person, but do like a little and steak sounds like a nice addition. God bless ya gals, Deb

  3. Lauren said,

    Debbie~

    Yes, I pan fry the steak to my preferred done-ness before putting it in the crock pot. What I made recently was about half steak and half ground beef. And I think that’s my favorite way of doing it!
    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

