And Who Are You?

January 18, 2010 at 1:28 am (Announcements) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Our stats reveal to us many interesting things:

Popular searches for our blog include all things itchy (due to Lauren’s pemphigoid), the simple word “pretty” (any explanation?), and questions about waiting for a godly husband (What Are You Waiting For?), rebellion (The Root of Rebellion), modesty (Situational modesty) and Elijah’s depression (The Elijah Syndrome).  Thankfully they’ve left off on the “Lauren is beautiful…I want to marry Lauren” vein.

Our top referring site is the Young Ladies Christian Fellowship–due to Lauren and Nathaniel’s betrothal story.

We receive close to  a hundred hits a day (more if we post a hot topic…)

And…

Our two most popular posts ever are the pages “The Lauren and Nathaniel Story” and “About Lauren and Abigail.”

Which means that we’ve got some lurkers who know plenty about us…and we’d like the chance to meet you.  🙂

Don’t be shy!  Just step up and leave us a comment telling us your name (or a nickname), your blog address (if you have one), how you found us/how long you’ve been visiting and a favorite book…or something else about yourself!  Are you married or single?  Christian or something else?  Do you prefer tuna or spam? Feel free to make it long or short!

Looking forward to meeting you!

23 Comments

  1. Kaylene said,

    I have read Pearls and Diamonds for quite awhile. I first came here from Lauren and Nathaniel’s story on YLCF.

    I am 20 yrs old, single, and thankful to say, I am a follower of Jesus Christ.

    I’m a homeschool graduate currently working as a private caregiver of the elderly.

    I love your insightful posts, especially the couple you’ve done on evangelism.

    And I would eat tuna over spam any day. 😉

  2. Kaylene said,

    Actually, I don’t know if you’ve done more than one on evangelism– The one I remember and highly recommend everyone read is ‘Gulping Raw Eggs’

  3. Debbie said,

    Been following you for awhile on here and on twitter. I believe I found you from a fellow blogger’s blog. I was drawn to your blog as there are so few blogs for the single, christian women and I’d like to see some more single christian girls blog. I feel we can be a good source of encouragement and support as we tend to be in the minority both in blog world and in churches. Keep up the great ministry girls!! God bless ya, Deb

  4. Sara said,

    I found your site through a link on another blog. I really enjoy your articles! Hmmm, I’m a nineteen year old single Christian young woman, and tuna is delicious. 🙂

  5. Bright Hope said,

    Hello ladies,
    I’d like to start by saying thank you for starting and keeping up your blog! A couple of years ago, I began looking for blogs that would encourage me as a Christian young woman. I don’t remember how or where I found your address, but I have been very encouraged since finding you. At the same time I was looking for blogs, God began to place it on my heart to start one myself. Almost a year ago, after lots of thought, prayer, and talking with my parents, I created my blog, Strength for Today, Bright Hope for Tomorrow (www.hopeful88.blogspot.com). (I hope you don’t mind that I have your link on my sidebar!) As to favorite books, I highly recommend: Beautiful Girlhood, His Chosen Bride, Emotional Purity, and Lies Women Believe. Again, thank you for your faithful encouragement!

  6. Cassie Ehn said,

    I actually just found your wonderful blog the other day, but I thought I would introduce myself anyway.

    I am a 23 year old single follower of Christ. I blog at Content of Praise [ http://cassie-ehn.blogspot.com ] and am (technically) an author at Apples of Gold [ http://agministries.org ]. I saw a link to your blogroll on a fellow blogger’s page and instantly became fascinated.

    As for my fave books, I LOVE: I Kissed Dating Goodbye, Whispers of Moonlight, Grace is for Sinners, Northanger Abbey, and When Calls the Heart.

    Thank you, ladies, for your honesty and relevant information.

  7. Guess Who said,

    Who am I? Why do I read your blog, you ask? Because I like to stalk you. Both of you. And you make it easy with your own website. Congratulations…yes, I am stalking you, or as you call it, I’m a lurker. I know everything about you.

  8. Anna said,

    I have read Pearls and Diamonds for over a year now, and it was recommended to me by a very good friend 🙂 I am a 19 year old, single girl after God’s own heart. I LOVE reading your posts and am very encouraged through your writings, especially the one’s about sharing your faith(since I’m a very shy person) and they helped me come out of my shell a little and share my faith with a couple of people here and there, PRAISE GOD! 🙂 I don’t have a blog b/c I’m a full time college student currently and have no time for anything but email(and sometimes that gets backed up quite a bit 😉 I LOVE reading good books, and currently am reading “A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23” by Phillip Keller, but one of my favorite authors is Elizabeth Elliot, and I LOVE reading biographies about zealous Christians! And I’ll have tuna over spam any day! May God continue to bless you and use you for His glory!

  9. Miss Jocelyn Tzahala said,

    I hope your lurkers come out… occasionally mine do, but not as much as I would like them too! lol

  10. Amy said,

    Yes, I know you and yes, you know me, but still thought I’d comment so you know I’m here! 🙂
    Blessings on a great ministry and a great blog!
    Amy

  11. Lauren said,

    “Guess Who”…

    I’m going to guess that you’re my straight-haired stalker (as opposed to the curly-haired one). 😉 You need to come and stalk me in person some time. And bring along your other half for Nathaniel’s sake. hehe

  12. Courtney said,

    Hi ladies 🙂
    I read your post and said to my husband- “they know they have lurkers, should I post?”
    I honestly have no idea how I found your blog, but whenever I did I bookmarked it and I stop by to catch up often. I’m 24, married, and have a son who turns 1 Saturday. I enjoy reading your perspectives on biblical womanhood and modesty.
    Currently my favorite book is “Passionate Housewives Desperate for God” by Jennie Chancey and Stacy McDonald. It’s given me a whole new perspective as a stay-at-home-mom.
    I’ve never had spam, so I’ll have to go with tuna as a preference. 🙂

  13. Vanessa said,

    I think I originally came to your blog from Feelin’Feminine and appreciated the depth and originality of your posts. I’m a nurse and I enjoy reading and writing as a pastime. I am single, living with my family, and enjoy a very full life serving the Lord. I love books that make me think and encourage me to climb higher – Amy Carmichael is one of my favorite authors.

  14. Guess Who said,

    Dear Lauren,

    Try again….I AM a straight haired stalker…when I used to stalk you I had curly hair…I have no other half, so if I came in person there would be no one there for Nathaniel’s sake, sorry (someday). And I still know all about you, like any stalker should.

  15. Renee said,

    I have been blessed by your writings here, and the blogs you have posted about! You guys have encouraged, inspired, and challenged me! Thank you!

    I am 21, Christian, homeschool graduate, married (going on 4 years), 2 babies – my son is 22 months old (not really a “baby” anymore…) and my daughter is 4 months. I consider myself a stay-at-home mom, although I do help my mother-in-law at her herb shop occasionally.

    Blessings!

  16. Abigail said,

    I guessed who “Guess Who” was correctly! Hooray!

    Ladies, how fun “meeting” ya’ll and hearing a little bit about your lives! I’ll be checking out blogs when I get the chance!

    Blessings, Abigail @ Pearls and Diamonds

  17. Lauren said,

    Oh, my dear now-straight-haired-stalker, I am sorry I guessed wrong. Obviously it has been way too long since you have stalked me in person! So nice to know that you are stalking me on this blog, though. Will you be stalking me this weekend??? I hope to see you soon!

    Courtney, I’ve been reading Passionate Housewives lately and hope to write a review of it soon–it’s been a very refreshing read!

    Glad to get to know you ladies a bit!
    ~Lauren

  18. Muriel said,

    Hi,

    I’m a 27-year old lurker. I don’t even remember how I found you. I am a wife to Daniel and (stay at home) mother to 2 girls, 3 and 1/2 and ten months old.
    I was born and raised in Holland and now live in Israel.
    I love reading historical fiction, but don’t have a lot of time to read at the moment. So for this season in my life I am mainly a knitter.
    I love to cook and bake.
    I enjoyed your posts on modesty.

    love, Muriel

    Try typing with a baby on your lap 😉

  19. Emily said,

    Lauren, weather-permitting, I WILL be stalking you this weekend! And I sure hope it permits, because I miss seeing friends! It has been far too long.

  20. Eshet Kayil said,

    Hello, ladies!

    Believe it or not, I *just* found your blog yesterday, through pixel8design’s blogroll. My name is Julianna, I’m almost 21 (yay!), aingle, and I live with my family of 7 in Charlotte, NC. We are strong Christians practicing Judaism.

    My sisters and I are responsible for candlelighters.wordpress.com. Come visit us sometime!

    I love a lot of your posts, although naturally, I haven’t had time to read all that many. 😉

    My favorite books include “A Letter for the Ages”, by Rabbi Avrohom Chaim Feuer (I highly recommend it!), the “When G-d Writes Your Love Story” set, and “Stepping Heavenward” by Elizabeth Prentiss.

    Thank you for being diligent to keep the standards high and our voices loud! Your blog shines. 🙂

    P.S. – I’ve never had tuna OR spam, so I can’t comment on that…

  21. Maiden Princess said,

    I sent you an e-mail about who I am and what I’m like and how I found your blog!

    If anyone else wants to know more about me you can visit my blog (ladie’s only please) @ http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/awindowintomyheart

  22. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    How fun to have readers stepping from the codework…:)

    Bright Hope–Excellent book recommendations! Some of my favorites! Did you know that the author of “His Chosen Bride” is now married (to a friend of a friend of mine–who was a widower) and has several little ones?

    Cassie–Who wrote “Grace is for sinners?” I’d be curious to hear what you liked about Northanger Abbey–I don’t think I really *got* it. 🙂

    Anna–I love your book choices, too! “A Shepherd looks at Psalm 23” revealed so much to me of God’s character and care–and I love Elizabeth Elliot and inspiring biographies! They put Christianity into practice for me.

    Courtney–Lauren has read “Passionate Housewives”, I believe, and everyone keeps recommending it to me. Perhaps I’ll get to it this year. 🙂

    Vanessa–if I ever have the time, I’d love to study nursing–it just seems to me as so practical and full of opportunity for service of the Lord and others. Plus, I love science. So I got excited reading your comment! I loved reading a bout Amy Carmichael’s life, as well!

    Renee–I didn’t know you helped out at an herb shop…now I know who I’ll be asking for natural remedies!

    Muriel–your abilities to multi-task are inspiring. 🙂 I never got beyond scarves when it came to knitting…

    Eshet–I’ve never heard of “A Letter for the Ages”–what is it about? I’ve read (and enjoyed) your other two favorites. Have you read any of Leslie Ludy’s other books? Lauren and I bonded over “Authentic Beauty” before we actually met…and I really enjoyed “Set-apart Femininity”. Very practical and poetic.

    Maiden Princess–we enjoyed your e-mail…and the picture! The rest will have to envy us that we are privy to your friendship. 😉

    Blessings,

    Abigail @ Pearls and Diamonds

  23. Cassie Ehn said,

    A dear blogging friend of mine named Serena Woods wrote “Grace is for Sinners” she actually has a blog with the same title. She is soooo honest and real while displaying Christ I love it– http://www.graceisforsinners.com/

    As for Northanger Abbey, I adore Jane Austen’s style in genereal, but there is just something about Catherine Morland that makes me identify with her in a new way. I don’t know if I can really explain it, but it felt more *real* to me than some of her other work. 😀

Leave a Reply

