My Heart in a Field of Dreams

February 26, 2010 at 1:00 am (Attitudes, Poetry, Singleness) (, , , , )

I wonder why my heart does wander
Upon fields of dreams yet to be
Taking along a scythe to harvest
What yet does not belong to me,

When riches all divinely given
Offer now a precious find.
Certainly I would embrace them
If my heart were not so blind.

Across the field I see a light
I gasp-it is a fire!
Sent by One jealous for my heart
To destroy my untimely desire.

“These dreams must be forgotten now
Their ashes will nourish the soil.
My rain and sun will produce in time
The right crops without your toil.

“Simply follow after this Lamb of Mine;
Love Him and do not depart.
Trust Me,” my Gardener and Guardian said,
“Allow Me to keep your heart.”

Done mourning over the barren field
Taking the hand of Love so tender,
My anxious heart finds its rest
At last in humble surrender.

Chasing now this spotless Lamb
I am overcome with glee,
That running through the blossoming field
He is all I see.

A lesson learned now becomes
A message I must deliver:
Fix not your heart upon the dreams-
But on the dream Giver.

Copyright 2006 by Lauren

Share this Post

12 Comments

  1. Grace said,

    Yes, I wear vintage dresses mostly everyday. I also like to wear and create regency dresses.
    I have designed my own patterns and have recently taken a regency pattern, and created a new neckline style, length, adjusting fit, and sleeve variations! I love sewing!

    I do like your website and will visit often!

    God Bless,
    Grace

  2. Marcia said,

    Wise and exquisite poetry. Thank you for this reminder.

  3. Miss Jocelyn said,

    Beautifully written! 🙂

    And so was this in your comment “little more thick-skinned and tender-hearted”. I completely agree!

  4. Kaylene said,

    This is wonderful! It goes so well with what the Lord’s been teaching me!

  5. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    Thank you, ladies! I’m so glad that this has been an encouragement! 🙂

    ~Lauren

  6. Meredith :) said,

    Ohh I love it! Beautiful imagery, and I love the last two lines. Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

  7. lisette cole said,

    love this! thank you for posting.. i love that the dreamgiver is 3 in one.. papa, jesus, and holy faithful spirit!
    your poem is very encouraging~
    my daughter’s name is lauren! bless you and your husband!
    lisette

  8. Hripsime said,

    A very beautiful poem! I needed this reminder. God bless you!
    I put my dreams into the hands of dream Giver. He will decide what to do with them.

  9. Purity and the Bigger Picture « Pearls and Diamonds said,

    […] half way through college I wrote a poem that dealt with the struggle of surrendering my dreams of marrying Nathaniel to the Lord. The poem […]

  10. For my single friends on Valentines Day | Ana Marie Ort said,

    […] My Heart in a Field of Dreams […]

  11. For my single friends on Valentines Day « Thoughts on life by Ana Marie said,

    […] My Heart in a Field of Dreams […]

  12. loan secured said,

    Excellent web site. A lot of helpful information here.

    I am sending it to a few friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks to your sweat!

Leave a Reply

