Because We Never Know the End…

October 7, 2010 at 11:37 am (Godly Living, Trust) (, , , , , , , )

Posted by Abigail

The last word you heard from me, I shared that I was losing a baby.  I told of hard paths, of death, of grief, of discouragement.  And I told of the Shunamite woman–of the miracle baby who grew up and died.  And of the pathway of trust down which Yahweh led her.  Whatever God does is always good, regardless of our limited perspective.  Then I vanished into real time.

In the story of the Shunamite woman, the end was not death, but resurrection.  God’s very real power at work to bring life from death.

I want you to know that, in real time, God did intercede with mercy.  I’ve since discovered that the baby’s life has been spared.  And the mother looks beautiful–as the nurse says, she’s gotten back her sparkle.  Even when I saw death, God was working for life.

The fact is, I’ve been seeing a lot of “hopeless” situations–both at the clinic and in the rest of real time.  I’m sure many of you can sympathize.  Many of them, I still don’t see the end.  May never.  But I know God is still righteous and does what is right.

I’d love to hear how God is at work through hard situations in your life…what you are learning about trust, and what you are discovering about death and resurrection.

6 Comments

  1. Natasha Atkerson said,

    THATS AWESOME! GOD IS SO AMAZING!

  2. Gretchen said,

    Sweet Abigail, you are so wise. I love reading your posts. I don’t know if your mom told you that I recently lost a baby. Tim and I decided to have another baby and I got pregnant in July, the first month we tried! God was good and we were so excited! But he had other plans. In August I miscarried and was devastated. It was so difficult to go through but I KNOW I serve a good God. I was frustrated and very sad but I never once doubted the love of my Savior. I know that we live in a fallen world and therefore will experience great loss and pain sometimes. But that is not God’s fault. He allowed this situation to bring me closer to many women at my church who have experienced (before and since mine) the same loss. How better to comfort a friend? I am so excited to be on this journey and to try again. And I’m thankful that he gave me his strength to get through an otherwise hopeless and devastating situation. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME!!!!! Love you girl!

  3. Vanessa said,

    I shared a little on my blog today about the “resurrection” of an almost-lost vision. I’ve learned that God sometimes takes us through long years of not knowing what the next step should be, of not knowing the end result of our labor. God works even when we cannot see Him. Trust is something I am learning more about every day. It is relying on powers that I cannot see to resolve all the problems that I can see.

  4. Pearls and Diamonds said,

    Gretchen, I had heard about your miscarriage–and was delighted to hear you are trying again! I’m thrilled to hear of the ways you have seen God at work…and will be excited to hear what He does next! Thanks for sharing!

    Vanessa, I could entirely relate to what you shared on your blog–since the Lord has recently resurrected a dormant dream for me, as well, and now I am trying to figure out how to proceed. May the Lord bless you as your life continues to change! And I’d love for you to send e-mail updates to our address here pearlsanddiamondsblog (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. Bonnie said,

    Hi Lauren and Abigail, your blog has been listed at http://www.youngchristianbloggers.blogspot.com

  6. Celebrate Recovery said,

    Thanks! Just saved this blog to my favs’!!

Leave a Reply

