A Lesson From a Rose

May 28, 2009 at 2:49 pm (Attitudes, God's Will, Poetry) (, , , , , , )

lesson-from-a-rose

“I’d like a little rose to place
Upon my dresser in a vase.”
The pleading eyes of amber hues
How could that look a man refuse?
“Just wait a bit,” the father smiled,
While looking fondly on his child.
“When gone are all the wintry snows
We’ll go and pick a perfect rose!”
The child turned her face away,
“I’ll go and pick one anyway.
My father has great things on mind
And though means only to be kind,
Still I have seen the scarlet blooms
And if I do not take one soon
They’ll wither and then turn to slime
Before my father finds the time.”
So saying, she her small steps took
Down to the arbor near the brook.
She gazed long moments at the wall
All covered with the buds still small
And wondered which the blushing sun
Would mark out as the perfect one.
Her dimpled hand reached out to take
The tender bud yet unawake
Still nodding in the morning light
Before the summer kissed it bright.
Into the vase the small flower went
Without the slightest accident
And soon it graced the dresser top.
It never bloomed, but drooped then dropped.
A flower with perfection’s plan
Was ruined by impatient hands.
The father saw the child’s choice
And though he never raised his voice,
He sighed that it should never come
To fullest beauty in the sun.
He’d raised that rose with her in mind
But his love’s gift she’d undermined
And what, if left to him, would be
The perfect bloom of purity,
Because once plucked it withered there
Was never seen in beauty rare.
How often we grasp much too soon
And seize God’s blessings ere they bloom.

Copyright 2005 by Abigail

Share this Post

3 Comments

  1. Vanessa said,

    Very thoughtful and beautiful.

  2. Cheri Bunch said,

    Hi Abigail~

    I just came across your blog this past week or so. I think I found you on Daveda’s blog. I love the name! I read a few of your posts but I hadn’t really taken the time to research who it was by yet. So your comment on my post was a real surprise! I couldn’t figure out how I knew you. I just went in and read about you and Lauren. Maybe I found you somewhere else, not sure. I just really liked your pages and added you thinking I wanted to be sure and come back later.
    Small world, no?
    I am looking forward to reading some more of your thoughts.

    I will close for now. Tell your family hi for me!

    Blessings,
    Cheri

  3. Cheri Bunch said,

    Love this poem! I have prematurely picked the rose far too many times in my life. His timing is always best!

Leave a comment